Hip Hop World Award 6:The Good, The Bad,The Headies!

Over the weekend, one of the most coveted and prestigious award in the music industry, Hip hop World Award was held at Eko Hotel and Suite, Lagos.

With the arena full of excitement as celebrities grace the red carpets, fans and contemporary music lovers awaited the anannoucement of the winners of the award.

The Headies which marks the sixth edition of the award had 58 artiste battling for it. The plague of the award was designed by ACE Awards England while the host are Nollywood diva Rita Dominic and music star Eldee de don.

Although the show started 2 hours late from its original schedule of 8pm some smiled good with more than one award while some like Asa, Terry d rap man, Mocheeah, Eva did not go with any award even though they were nominated.

Wizkid however won this year’s next saved award of the year beating Ty savage, Ice prince and Olamide to the additional Hyundai Sonata given to the winner apart from the award while sir Shina Peters was given the Hall of Fame award for his immense contribution to the music industry.

Hip Hop World Award 6:The Good, The Bad,The Headies!

Hitch at the award:
The award was full of mix-up starting from the opening performance by Olamide instead of Waje as annouced by the presenters. Dr Sid also became fustrated as he could not synchronise with the D.J so he stormed out of the stage and said the “F” word.

The presenters appear not to flow with each other as Rita was nervous on stage. The first award that was annouced was for the Best Rap Single but the display on the screen was for the Best Rap Album.

Inspite of this, the award was a success as the crowd were thrilled with performances by Sir Shina Peters, Sound Sultan, Olamide e.t.c.

However winners of the HEADIES include:
Album of the Year-2face (Unstoppable international edition)
Artiste of the Year-2face
Best R&B/Pop Album-2face (Unstoppable international edition)
Song of the Year- Oleku (Ice prince ft. Brymo)
Best Rap Single-Oleku (Ice prince ft. Brymo)
Recording of the Year-Darey (The way you are)
Best R&B Single-Darey (The way you are)
Producer of the Year- Don Jazzy (2011 credits include: Over the Moon,Mr Endowed,Pop Something)
Best Music Video Award (goes to Director)-D.J Tee (Eniduro-Olamide)
Best Pop Single-Dr Sid (Pop Something)
Hip hop Revelation of the Year-Dr Sid
Best Rap Album-MI2
Best Collabo-MI ft. Flavour N Abania(Number One)
Lyricist on the roll- Mode Nine(Rhyme Tight)
Best Male Vocal Performance-Capital FEMI(Money Money Money)
Best Female Vocal Performance-Waje
African Artiste of the Year-Cabo Snoops (Windeck)
Best Street Flop-Jahbless (Joooh Remix)
Next Rated-Wizkid (Holla at your boy)
Best Concious Song of the Year-Eldee the Don(One Day)
Headies Hall of Fame- Sir Shina Peters.

Side kick:Is there no other Rap artiste that can beat Mode Nine to the Lyricist on the roll award? Haba! Since the inception of the award, the guy have always been the winner as if it is his birthright!.


image credits

Enjoyed the post? Kindly use the sharing buttons on the left hand side to share the post on your favorite social networks. To make sure you stay up to date with our articles, enter your email to subscribe.

No Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.